Home > RFID Fundamental > RFID vs Barcode  
 
 
 
  - Overview
  - RFID vs Barcode
  - RFID Applications
     
     
   
   
   
   
 


RFID and barcode technology are similar in that they both contain tags or labels with particular ID which are readable by some electronic equipment. Although the overall functions of both RFID and barcode technology are similar, the attributes RFID possesses may be advantageous to the business world.

Read Range and Interference

One of the important advantages of RFID technology is its long read range. An item with a barcode must be scanned directly by a laser beam with no obstacle between the scanner and the label. In RFID, the read range is longer and tags can be read even when blocked by an obstacle.

Visibility

Barcode technology has been widely used in Supply Chain Management (SCM) in the past 30 years as barcodes can contain information about manufacturers, product families and type, which has increased the effectiveness of supply chain operations. However, barcode technology is limited to information at the item level, where different items with the same Stock Keeping Unit (SKU) have the same ID. This is a disadvantage for lots of businesses including the retail industry as shop managers are unable to identify exactly which products that have been sold within the same SKU. RFID technology can be applied at the item level as each product can be assigned a particular ID. This enables particular products in the supply chain to be tracked, which enhances the visibility of the supply chain operation.

Read/Write Tag Data

Barcode data is fixed whenever it is printed. It cannot be amended unless replaced by a new label. RFID tags, on the other hand, can be reprogrammed to update information, which provides greater flexibility for the user.

To Top


 

 
| Home | About Us | RFID Fundamentals | Events | Our Solutions | Membership | Contact Us | Site Map |
Copyright © Industrial & Systems Engineering in The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

首頁 > RFID基礎知識 > RFID與條碼的比較  
 
 
 
  - RFID技術概覽
  - RFID與條碼的比較
  - RFID的應用
     
     
   
   
   
   
 


從某些角度看,RFID和條碼技術確有相似之處,例如兩者都以一個附有ID的標籤或標貼,供一些電子設備讀取。雖然大體上兩者的功能相若,但RFID和條碼存在的一些差異,使RFID可以為商業世界帶來更多好處。

 

讀取範圍及干擾

RFID技術的其中一個好處,是其較長的讀取範圍。事實上,條碼技術只能利用鐳射光束,直接在條碼標貼上掃描,而且掃描器和標貼之間不能有阻隔。但RFID技術則可支援較長的讀取範圍,而且就算標籤和閱讀器之間有障礙,讀取同樣沒問題。另一方面,條碼的讀取範圍也受溫度、濕度等外在環境影響,例如條碼閱讀器是不能在雨天運作的,因為鐳射光線會受到干擾。惟RFID技術就不會受這類環境因素限制,仍可如常運作。

 

透明度

在過去30年,供應鏈管理均廣泛採用條碼技術,因為條碼可記載關於廠商、產品家族及類型等資料,從而幫助增加供應鏈運作的成效。不過,條碼技術亦受限於只能記載單項資料,但不同項目還是有相同的最小存貨單位(Stock Keeping Unit - SKU),以及相同的ID。這就為很多業務帶來不利條件,例如: 店面經理不能確認在相同的SKU中,確切知道哪件貨品被出售。但RFID技術則可細緻到讓每件產品,均獲派獨立的ID作單項紀錄,方便就每件產品在供應鏈的流動情況加以追蹤,增加供應鏈運作的透明度。

 

讀寫標籤數據

當列印出來後,條碼記載數據就已經固定,無法更改條碼內容,除非重印一張新的條碼標貼。但RFID標籤則容許改編當中的資料,確保其附載最新最準的資料,大大提高用家的彈性。

 

返回頁首


 

 
| 首頁 | 關於我們 | RFID基礎知識 | 相關活動 | 我們的解決方案 | 會員登記 | 聯絡我們 | 網站地圖 |
版權所有 © 香港理工大學工業及系統工程學系